25 jan. 2014

Gothtune Podcast #22


Night Sins - Air Dance
Liquid Grey - Darkest Hour
Johnathan-Christian - I Walk This Earth
Madness of the Night - We are the Gothrocker´s and we Don´t Care (Chamber Mix)
The Silence Industry - brother sing, sister shout (we are all migrants)
Corpus Principium - Lacrima Della Notte
The Eden House - First We Take Manhattan
Sopor Aeternus & The Ensemble of Shadows - The Conqueror Worm
Haflingerallergie - Slow
Final Rites - Whisper Louder (demo)
Our Ceasing Voice - What Used To Be A Battle Song
Useless Words of Sasha Grey - Посты умерших
Scent Of Misery - Scent of Misery

Listen to Gothtune here

24 jan. 2014

REVIEW: Corpus Principium - Blessings of Death


Are you into occultism or something different? Then you should check out Corpus Principium´s album Blessings Of Death. This is a one man based band from Miami, Florida with the front person Marquis.

Marquis find his inspiration in his practition of Austin osman Spare´s system of magic, "via enacting change through chaos energies and the subconscious desires of man." Marquis also got a background in other bands like Elegy of Madeline, In Nomine Choronzon, Grauen Pestanz and Black Funeral. Corpus Principium record Blessings Of Death is Marquis latest work, 13 tracks plus a bonus track remixed by Dj Kitty Lectro.

Marquis told me in an interview that he see his music as an art performance and within his live shows he stage some rituals for the audience. The music is different and very special.

This is not commercial, I see it more as art from an artist who want to deliver something more than just a song. If I would compare it to something, I think I would say a more electronic version of old Sopor Aeternus, but more modern gothic rock / darkwave, sometimes a touch of Madre Del Vizio which is one of my all time favorite bands.

My tip to you is to listen to this record some times, this kind of music is growing and there are some really great treasures here. This kind of record is something you can put now and then, again and again for a very long time. It is timeless and those albums wins my heart in the end. My favorite tracks on the album are, Eternal Sleep, Masquerade of Tears, Languish and Squander Not Thy Days.

01 - Discourse with Heaven
02 - Blessings of Death
03 - Eternal Sleep
04 - Poisoned Angels
05 - Necrologia
06 - The Mist in the Stone
07 - Masquerade of Tears
08 - Full Moon Flesh
09 - Misfortunes (Asylum Party)
10 - The Form of Wings
11 - Lacrima Della Notte
12 - Languish
13 - Squander Not Thy Days
14 - Masquerade Of Tears (Kitty Lectro Remix)

Facebook Youtube

Also, read the interview we made with Corpus Principium

22 jan. 2014

Night Sins – To London Or The Lake

Night Sins album “To London Or The Lake” was released 10th of December 2013 at Avant! Records. This is a record label from Italy that release vinyl LP´s, kind of old school. However, Night Sins is old school, like the other band Horror Vacui I reviewed before at the same label.

Night Sins is from Philadelphia, USA and in their description they are compared with “The Sisters of Mercy and Clan of Xymox with enough hints of The Mission“. London Or The Lake is their second album and the songwriter Kyle Kimball himself, talking about this album, says: “The record is lyrically about longing and musically I tried to write the soundtrack to The Lost Boys movie if it came out in 2013”.

First time I listen to this record I felt a wow factor at the same time I felt kind of disturb of the production. BUT, it did not take too long time before I understood and guessed this is how they wanted it. This record really take you back to the 80´s, even the sounds of their keyboards ect. And after I listen to this album for more than 10 times this feeling went away and made this to one of my top-10 album of 2013. This record brings a very high level and standard of songs made in a very professional performance. Avant! Records have succeeded ones again, first they took me with Horror Vacui and now Night Sins. If you are interested in traditional Gothic rock / Dark wave, buy this record. You can find it as digital mp3 if you trashed your old vinyl record player.

Avant! Records Facebook

12 jan. 2014

Dark Reviews

Dark Reviews got a new page. We will still publish most of the reviews here too, but this page will be a clean page with only reviews.

10 jan. 2014

REVIEW: Our Ceasing Voice - That Day Last November

This is a band from Innsbruck / Wien playing some kind of ambient, post rock and shoegaze according to their biography. "That Day Last November" is their second album, released in the beginning of 2013.

If I would describe this bands sound I would say it is a mix between Pink Floyd and My Dying Bride with a touch of Fields Of The Nephilim. Their music is dark and it switches between soft, calm to more heavy. The same goes with the vocals, soft thick voice to nearly grimecore.

The first songs that waked me up for this band was "Until Your chest Explodes" and "One Of These Nights". But after listen to the record several times I think my favorite song is "What Used To Be A Battle Song". But, overall everything is great. This band succeeded to make me touched, you know this nice shivering feeling when you hear something dark and gloomy that makes you happy and you start to smile. That is emotional.


5 jan. 2014

REVIEW: Beastmilk - Climax

Beastmilk from Finland released their cd Climax, 29 of November this year. They play post-punk, described in their biography as a gloomier Joy Division, a medicated Killing Joke with a lush layering of Peter Murphy.

Their cd is mostly intensive and I feel much influence from the 60´s rockabilly sound, but with a modern attitude of post-punk and sometimes foggy heavy guitars. I love the drive in the drums and Kvohst voice is kind of unique too. Most of the songs got very professional structure and their song Genocidal Crush has a very big hit potential. The most of the songs goes straight forward but there are two tracks who are slower, Ghosts Out Of Focus and the last song Stange Attractors.

For me, this is a great release with a professional sound. It is a band that would be interesting to see live. I think it could be a very mixed audience, from rockabilly's to dressed up dark goths. To be honest, this record became number five on my top ten releases of 2013.